Tahquamenon Logging Museum Logo
Tahquamenon Logging Museum History

Tahquamenon Logging Museum History

"Lumbering plays a role as vital in Luce County's economy today as it did when the county seat, Newberry, was founded in 1882."

A Community Effort
The Tahquamenon Logging Museum History was started by inspiration and a community which began in 1982.  This is when the Newberry Historical Restorations Association, Inc (NHRA) acquired this 29-acre complex to develop an outdoor museum complex. 

The Site was purchased and developed over the ensuing years through he combined efforts of local citizens and government agencies.

The project sponsors have developed a Visitors Center and added several historic buildings from Luce County. The long-range goal of the NHRA is to preserve important parts of its local heritage.

An accurate reconstruction of a 19th century logging camp will be constructed on this site as the final step of development. The site is owned by the McMillan Township Board of Supervisors.

The Tahquamenon Logging Museum  is Nature Study Area and a non-profit Organization.

"A big slice of Michigan history and well worth the drive from Virginia." —D. Dueweke, Facebook Reviews

Tahquamenon Logging Museum History

Logging & Lumberjacks in Luce County

Newberry was founded in 1882 as a halfway point to the railroad line between Marquette and Sault Ste. Marie.  Because of the abundance of both hardwood and softwood, Newberry became the logging center for the Eastern Upper Peninsula.

The Vulcan Furnace Company Makers of charcoal iron, soon became the main employer.  Their operation utilized more than 1,000 acres of prime hardwood annually. 

As acreage was cleared around the railroad depot in Newberry, the demand for workers increased.  Dozens of pine and hardwood camps were build around Luce County and the village became a busy hub of lumberjack activity between the years 1880-1920.

Situated along the shores of the Tahquamenon River, the museum features artifacts from Michigan's early days of lumbering.  Come and explore the original buildings and memorabilia from lumberjack days of the past.  See the original C.C.C. buildings full of old photos, models, and original logging equipment.  We have many displays which feature historical information and tools from days of old.

Take a tour of the museum, see a slide presentation of early logging in Michigan, view the many artifacts, visit an original family dwelling, take a walk down the nature trail and stroll the boardwalk which takes you to a spectacular view of the Tahquamenon River.

The Tahquamenon Logging Museum would like to thank the Michigan Arts & Culture Council and McMillan Township for their support over the years. Their support has enabled TLM to bring in talented entertainers to TLM for our summer festivals each year. Also, MACC has given TLM a grant this year to help pay for re-siding the McGruer House with cedar lap siding. Their support has been of great benefit to our community. Bringing folks to the museum helps us teach our public about the rich history and culture of our community. Thank You MACC!